Below is a list of commonly asked questions.  Click on any question to be taken to its answer below.  If you have a question that isn't answered below or elsewhere on the site, feel free to email us or call your closest office.  We're here to help!


  1. I just got a DUI. What happens to my license? Can I still drive? The officer issued me an Order of Suspension and Temporary License. What am I supposed to do now?

  2. For how long will my driving privilege be suspended if I took the chemical test?

  3. At the time of my arrest, the officer confiscated my driver license. How do I get it (and my driving privileges) back?

  4. How do I apply for a restricted driver license?

  5. How do I enroll in your DUI Program? What do I need to bring with me at Intake? Can anyone come with me?

  6. How do I get Proof of Enrollment from my program? Is it done automatically, or do I have to request it?

  7. Once I start my program, can I transfer it to another location?

  8. What forms of payment do you accept? How often will I have to pay?

  9. How soon after being convicted of a DUI do I need to start attending my required program?

  10. Can I enroll in my DUI program before I am convicted in court?

  11. How do I know which program to sign up for?

  12. How long will it take me to complete my program? Can I accelerate my program?

  13. When are the classes held?

  14. What happens if I miss a class?

  15. What happens if I am dismissed from my program?

  16. What happens if I get another DUI before I have completed my current DUI program?

  17. Can I take time off from my DUI Program?

  18. Can I do my DUI Program online?

  19. My DUI is from a long time ago. How do I go about signing up and how do I know what program I need to sign up for?

  20. My DUI was in another state. Can I complete my program in California?

  21. What if I have a question that isn’t answered here?

1. I just got a DUI.  What happens to my license?  Can I still drive?  The officer issued me an Order of Suspension and Temporary License. What am I supposed to do now?

      You may drive for 30 days from the date of the order of suspension or revocation was issued, provided you have been issued a California driver license and your driver license is not expired, or your driving privilege is not suspended or revoked for some other reason.
      The officer is required by law to immediately forward a copy of the completed notice of suspension or revocation form and any driver license taken into possession, with a sworn report to the DMV. The DMV automatically conducts an administrative review that includes an examination of the officer's report, the suspension or revocation order, and any test results. If the suspension or revocation is upheld during the administrative review, you may request a hearing to contest the suspension or revocation.
      You have the right to request a hearing from the DMV within 10 days of receipt of the suspension or revocation order. If the review shows there is no basis for the suspension or revocation, the action will be set aside. You will be notified by the DMV in writing only if the suspension or revocation is set aside following the administrative review.

2. For how long will my driving privilege be suspended if I took the chemical test?

      If you are 21 years of age or older, took a blood or breath test, or (if applicable) a urine test, and the results showed 0.08% BAC or more:

  • A first offense will result in a minimum 4-month suspension.

  • A second or subsequent offense within 10 years will result in a minimum 1-year suspension.

      If you are under 21 years of age, took a preliminary alcohol screening (PAS) test or other chemical test and results showed 0.01% BAC or more, your driving privilege will be suspended for a minimum of 1 year.
      If you refused to take the chemical test (first offense) your license will be suspended for a period of 1 year.  Second offense revoked for two years, third offense revoked for three years.

3. At the time of my arrest, the officer confiscated my driver license. How do I get it (and my driving privileges) back?

      If convicted of DUI, you will be required to enroll in a DUI Program. Your driver license will remain suspended until you have completed your DUI program; however, after enrollment you will be able to apply at the DMV for a restricted driver license.  If you are issued a restricted license, you will be able to use that license to drive back and forth to work, drive in the course of employment, and drive to your DUI program.  For all other purposes, your license will remain suspended.
      Your driver license will be returned to you at the end of the suspension or revocation, provided you pay a $125 reissue fee to the DMV and you file proof of financial responsibility (SR-22).  If you are seeking a restricted license, you will have to pay the reissue fee and file proof of financial responsibility at the time of the application.  Some persons seeking a restricted license will also need to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle.

4. How do I apply for a restricted driver license?

      To apply for a restricted license, you must obtain proof of enrollment in your DUI Program (which is filed electronically by your program within 72 hours of enrollment), proof of SR-22 insurance, and proof of ignition interlock device if required.  You must go to DMV and pay the reissue fee of $125. You may be required to take the DMV written examination if your license has expired.  Additional fees may apply in this circumstance.
      Not everyone qualifies for a restricted license.  It is not up to ACE Programs to determine whether you qualify or not.  Contact DMV Mandatory Actions Unit (916-657-6525) with any questions regarding your eligibility.
      A restricted license can only be used for the following:

  • Driving back and forth to work.

  • Driving in the course of employment.

  • Driving to your DUI Program.

      If we have filed proof of enrollment for you and you are dismissed from your DUI Program, the program is obligated by law to notify the DMV of your dismissal.  Once notified, the DMV will no longer allow you to have a restricted license.  You will have to complete your program in full to have your driving privileges returned.

5. How do I enroll in your DUI Program?  What do I need to bring with me at Intake?  Can anyone come with me?

   You will need to attend intake and orientation alone. Due to the confidentiality of our program, friends and family members may not accompany you inside our facility. You will need to bring a *referral, a picture ID and your enrollment fee. (Enrollment fee varies based on length of program – see the Fees page for information.)  You will need to attend an intake interview and an orientation at our facility.  Orientation is done in a group format therefore you will need to attend your first day on the day your chosen facility offers orientation (see facilities for Intake day and time).  At orientation, you will be offered choices regarding your program schedule, and you will be allowed to choose the class day and time that most closely fits your schedule.

*If you have a court obligation, you must have a current court referral indicating the length of the program and the “enroll by” date. If your court case is from a court within Riverside County, you will need a current referral from the Riverside County Drinking Driver Program (951-778-3500). A referral from a court outside of Riverside County is considered “current” as long as the written “enroll by” date has not passed. Riverside County DDP referrals are current for 30 calendar days from the date of issuance. Each ACE Program facility does intake and group orientation on only one specific day of each week. Please call for information immediately upon receiving your referral so that we can help you to avoid an expired referral, which could result in you having to return to court to obtain a new one. By law, we cannot allow you to enroll with an expired referral.

*If you do not have a court obligation and are enrolling only for DMV purposes, you will need an H-6 printout from the DMV, which must be current within 30 days at the time of your enrollment. If your DUI was in Riverside County, we will ask you to confirm with the referring agency (Riverside County DDP 951-778-3500) that you do not need a court referral, and we will request the name of the person you spoke with at that agency.

6. How do I get Proof of Enrollment from my program?  Is it done automatically, or do I have to request it?

Proof of enrollment is not something that we provide automatically.  You will need to place a request to the manager at your program location to send it on your behalf.  Please understand that we can only provide proof of enrollment to the DMV in California regarding your DUI program.  In order to accommodate your request, we will need three pieces of information from you at the time of your enrollment:

A. Your California driver license or Identification number.  (We cannot use a driver license from another state to provide proof of enrollment to CA DMV.)
B. Your complete name as it appears in the CA DMV record (particularly important for those that have two last names.)
C. Your violation date (the date upon which you were arrested for your most recent or only DUI.)

If you have never had a CA license or I.D. card, you will need to go to the DMV and apply for a CA I.D., or get an "X" number from the DMV, before requesting proof of enrollment.

7.     Once I start my program, can I transfer it to another location? 

      If you find it necessary during your program, you may make an appointment with the facility manager to transfer your credits to any other DUI program within the state of California.  A small fee is required to transfer your credits out of our program.  See our program staff for information on how to find another program in the area to which you would like to relocate.
      If you are enrolled in a DUI program other than ACE Programs and want to transfer to our facility, please contact our program location that will best suit your needs for information on how to transfer in.   A transfer fee will apply. 

8. What forms of payment do you accept? How often will I have to pay?

      ACE Programs accepts payments in cash, money orders or personal checks. We also accept Visa Debit and most major credit cards.  During the last 30 days of your DUI program we will accept cash and money orders only.  Our payment plan is set up for weekly payments.  If this does not fit your needs, see the facility manager to discuss alternative arrangements.

9. How soon after being convicted of a DUI do I need to start attending my required program?

      The court will designate a date by which you must enroll in your DUI program.  Failure to enroll by that date will result in a warrant for your arrest. 
      After you enroll, your classes will begin within 5 - 10 days, depending upon on which day you choose to attend.  Failure to attend any scheduled activity will result in an absence.  Failure to attend for a period of 21 consecutive calendar days from the date of your most recent activity (including intake and orientation) will result in termination in accordance with California state law.

10. Can I enroll in my DUI program before I am convicted in court?

      Some clients wish to enroll in our program pre-conviction, so that they can apply for a restricted driver license.  Any client may pre-enroll, however there are some things you should consider when making the decision to do so.

  • When a client pre-enrolls, program length is assigned by baseline requirements for first and multiple offenses, and may not be the actual program length you are ordered to complete by the court. Each program length has a unique schedule of attendance. Therefore, you may be damaging your ability to complete your program “on time” by participating in a program that needs to be changed once you are convicted.

  • If you get a restricted license prior to being convicted, the DMV will suspend your license again as soon as the court reports the conviction to the DMV. This results in additional DMV fees and will require another trip to the DMV to regain restricted driving privileges.

      If you desire to pre-enroll and your court case is within Riverside County, you will need to contact the Riverside County DDP for a referral (951-778-3500).  They will give you an appointment at their facility (with an H-6 printout) to get your referral.  When you enroll at our facility you will need to bring your DDP referral, a picture ID and your enrollment fee.   After you are convicted, you will be required to take your court paperwork back to DDP so that they can give you an updated referral to bring to your DUI program.  Failure to return to Riverside County DDP with your court paperwork once convicted will result in DDP not notifying the court of your enrollment or completion, which will result in a warrant for your arrest.
      If you desire to pre-enroll and your court case is not from Riverside County, you may pre-enroll at our facility directly with a current H-6 printout from DMV.  Current = printed within the last 30 days.  You will need your H-6 printout, a picture ID and your enrollment fee.  Failure to bring court referral to us once convicted will result in us not notifying the court that you have enrolled in or completed your program, which will result in a warrant for your arrest.

11.  How do I know which program to sign up for?

      Your program length will be determined by the court, which takes into consideration factors such as: whether this is your first, second, or subsequent DUI offense; your blood alcohol concentration at the time of your arrest; circumstances of the arrest, etc.
      A first offense DUI can result in a program anywhere from 12-hours long to 12-months long.  Most first offenders in Riverside County are sentenced to a 3-month or a 9-month program.
      A second offense DUI (or subsequent offense) will automatically result in an 18-month DUI Program in Riverside County. 
      The length of your program will be indicated in writing on your court referral.  If enrolling with an H-6 printout, it is your obligation to inquire at DMV about the program length you will need to clear your license.
      For some participants, the court may order a shorter program than that required by the DMV to clear your license.  (For instance, if you had a prior DUI of which the court is not aware.)  If so, you will have to complete the longer program to satisfy your DMV requirements.

12.  How long will it take me to complete my program?  Can I accelerate my program?

      By state law, your program cannot be completed faster than the program length you are required to attend. 

13.  When are the classes held?

      Hours of operation vary from one facility to another.  On our facilities page, under each facility location, you can find the hours that are offered at that location.  You can select your program based on proximity to you or convenience of the hours offered. 

14.  What happens if I miss a class?

      If you miss a class, you will receive an absence.  By state law, there are a maximum number of absences allowed for each program length.  Exceeding the number of absences allowed for your program will cause program termination.

  • 12-Hour Program – 2 Absences are allowed

  • 3 or 4-Month Program – 5 Absences are allowed

  • 6 and 9-Month Programs – 7 absences are allowed

  • 12 and 18-Month Programs – 10 Absences are allowed

15.  What happens if I am dismissed from my program?

      If you are dismissed from your program, it is not the end of the world.  As long as you re-enroll within two years of your dismissal date, you will retain all credits for attendance and fees paid.
      There are, however, negative effects.  If you have a restricted license, you will lose it at the time of dismissal and the DMV will not reinstate it after you re-enter your program.  You will have to obtain a new referral from the court or the Riverside County DDP to re-enroll.  If you enrolled for DMV purposes only, you will have to spend a minimum of 30 days out of the program and obtain a new H-6 printout to re-enroll.  You will need an appointment to re-enter the program. You will also have to pay a $35 re-entry fee, and any money you were behind when you were dismissed.
      Dismissal will occur for the following reasons:  Excessive absences, 21 days of non-participation, failure to pay a Notice of Financial Delinquency, Inappropriate / threatening behavior, Failure to maintain program sobriety.

16.  What happens if I get another DUI before I have completed my current DUI program?

      If you are arrested for a new DUI while you are already attending a DUI program, you must notify us immediately.  Do not just stop attending your program without notifying the program manager at your location, and discussing the situation from all sides.  Quitting your program on your own could have negative consequences in court.
      If you are convicted of a new DUI, in accordance with state law, ACE Programs will have to dismiss you from your program for failure to maintain program sobriety, and will not be able to reinstate you in your current program.  You will have to begin a new multiple offender program (CA DMV law states that you have to begin a brand new program AFTER the date of your most recent DUI violation in order to have your driving privileges returned to you at the end of your program).  However, you can respectfully request in court to run your cases for the old and the new DUI concurrent in your new program.  If your cases are from two different counties, you must get written permission from the court in both counties to run your cases concurrent, and bring us a new referral from one court agency with both cases listed.

17.  Can I take time off from my DUI Program?

      Under certain circumstances a participant may arrange a pre-approved leave of absence.  All requests for a leave of absence must be accompanied by appropriate documentation substantiating the need for a leave of absence.  State law allows leave of absence for military duty, extended employment travel, medical treatment, incarceration, residential drug/alcohol treatment, etc.  Requests are subject to approval.  Any leave taken without approval will be considered an absence.

18.  Can I do my DUI Program online?

      In the state of California, it is not allowed by law to complete your DUI program online.  You must attend your DUI program in person.

19.  My DUI is from a long time ago.  How do I go about signing up and how do I know what program I need to sign up for?

      In California, DUI convictions remain on your record permanently until you have completed the requirements of the court and/or the DMV.  You will eventually need to complete the required program in order to have it removed.  We recommend that you go to your local DMV and request an H-6 printout, which contains your driving history.  You must ask at the DMV which program you need to complete to clear your license.  You will need that information and an H-6 printout to enroll in your DUI program, along with your enrollment fee and a picture I.D..

20.  My DUI was in another state. Can I complete my program in California?

      You can complete a program in California for a DUI you received out of state, but you must request permission to do so from the court in the state in which you received your DUI.  Out of state requirements may differ from those commonly seen in California, therefore, you may be ordered to obtain an alcohol assessment before determining the length of the program you need here in California.
      Certain factors are important to keep in mind if you live in California but received a DUI in another state.  If you were driving with a California driver license at the time of your arrest you will need to complete your program based on the requirements of the CA DMV to clear your license.  If you were driving with an out-of-state license at the time of your arrest, you will need to contact the DMV in that state to determine their requirements.
      Once you have obtained information from the court and the DMV in the state in which you received your DUI, we will work with you to find a program that satisfies those requirements.

21. What if I have a question that isn’t answered here?

      Please feel free to visit our contact page and email us with any questions you have. We’re here to help!